Guest Post: David Zeltser, author of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age

lug_webThe Book Beacon loves ALL genres, and we were excited to be contacted about Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age, a new release for Middle Grade readers (ages 8-12).  Please keep reading for more about this great new book! Be sure to pick up this new title for your Middle Grade readers!!

But first: we are thrilled to have author David Zeltser is our guest today!

guestpost
SONY DSCHey Book Beacon Readers!

Kristina asked me what three books I’d bring to a desert island. That’s just plain cruel, so I’m going to go ahead and pick series or complete works.

1) James Herriott’s All Creatures Great and Small series – so charming, full of humor, and these have always helped me fall asleep when feeling anxious.

2)Harry Potter — some of the most imaginative and just plain fun books ever written. And the last few volumes are nice and hefty for breaking island coconuts.

3) The Complete Works of Dr. Seuss – It’s important for me to have brilliant illustrations to look at. Also, great read-alouds for when I’m not talking to my dressed-up coconut ala Cast Away. Worth it alone for all the memories of reading these to my daughter. Especially the brilliant and lesser-known “What Was I Scared Of?” about the pale green pants with nobody inside them.

Bonus volume: The Complete Works of David Zeltser — Yeah, I know, I know, but give me a little time, people

xo

David

P.S. Thanks for your interest! For more about me, LUG, and other upcoming books, visit my website. Here’s the page with the LUG book trailer: http://davidzeltser.com/books/lug-dawn-of-the-ice-age

Lug_jkt_finalAbout Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age – How One Small Boy Saved Our Big, Dumb Species:

A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood caveboy perfect for fans of Ice AgeHappy FeetThe Time Warp Trio, and Platypus Police Squad.

Lug is a caveboy who would rather paint than club other caveboys. The clan even mocks him, calling him “Little Slug.” Like all the other caveboys, Lug must enter the contest to become the clan’s next Big Man and attempt to catch the Biggest Beast–even though he would much rather spend his days painting in his secret art cave. When Lug is banished for failing to catch a jungle llama, he thinks he is alone in the world but finds others who believe in him: his clanmate Stony and a new friend, Echo, a girl from a rival clan who can talk to animals and just may be prehistory’s first vegetarian/animal rights activist. Together they face even bigger challenges–Lug discovers the Ice Age is coming and he has to bring the warring clans together to save them not only from the freeze but also from a particularly unpleasant migrating pride of saber-toothed tigers. It’s no help that the elders are cavemen who can’t seem to get the concept of climate change through their thick skulls. With both funny, anachronistic humor, charming characters, and strong themes, Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age is sure to be a hit with many readers.

Illustrated with black and white line art throughout.

“Readers will cheer for prehistory’s earliest underdog in this rollicking adventure of cave kids, wild boars, and woolly mammoths. Lug makes the Ice Age sizzle.”—Gordon Korman, #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 39 Clues and Swindle

“A merry prehistoric romp filled with unexpected laughs and sly humor! Following Lug as he tries to negotiate the mysteries of art, girls, changing climate, and the rowdy game of Headstone is sheer delight. Fast-paced and funny, with a heart of gold, this is one that kids will love.”—Bruce Coville, author of My Teacher Is an Alien and Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher

author

DAVID ZELTSER emigrated from the Soviet Union as a child, graduated from Harvard, and has worked with all kinds of wild animals, including rhinos, owls, sharks, and ad executives. He is the author of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age, the first book in a satirical series about the world’s inaction on climate change, for ages 8-12. He also has a forthcoming picture book, Ninja Baby, with Caldecott Honor illustrator Diane Goode (Chronicle Books). David lives with his wife and daughter in Santa Cruz, California. He performs improv comedy and loves meeting readers of all ages. His second book about Lug is scheduled to publish in Fall 2015. Visit David’s website at www.davidzeltser.com. He’s also on Twitter: @davidzeltser

Don’t miss the remaining stops on the Lug Blog Tour!

Monday, September 08, 2014

The Haunting of Orchid Forsythia

Review and giveaway

My Brain on Books

Guest post and giveaway

Tuesday, September 09, 2014

Live to Read

Guest post and giveaway

A Backwards Story

Guest post and giveaway

Future Dates

TBD

Cynsations

New Voices Interview

Friday, September 19, 2014

Rockin Book Reviews

Q&A and giveaway

Saturday, September 27, 2014

Elizabeth O. Dulemba

Guest post and giveaway

Monday, November 10, 2014

This Kid Reviews Books

Review only

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s