Guest Post: Author Courtney Ruggles shares 7 Fun Facts about The Domicile Series

Sauvage Domicile Banner

The Sixth Domicile (The Domicile Series Book 1) by Courtney Ruggles

Published by Elephantine Publishing     Genre: New Adult Dystopian

sixthIn a future ravaged by greed and war, The Domicile has emerged. A new civilization governed by clandestine Elders where citizens are united by white masks and uniform identities. To remove one’s mask, to go outside the Domicile, to show defiance, means being sent to the Meurtre, a horrifying death sentence.

Q437B doesn’t follow the rules. She craves sunlight, dares to love her childhood friend B116A, and–the most forbidden of all–has seen the true face of her beloved beneath his mask.

But when Q becomes an Adulte, The Domicile threatens to take away everything that makes her happy. She is forced to marry an abusive soldier who demands she conform.

Whispers spread about the unconventional lessons she teaches her new students. And when Q openly disobeys the Elders, the people become restless, questioning the truth of the world in the wake of such defiance.

Rumblings of discontent stir as others begin to follow the path toward their freedom. The Revolution has begun, and Q is the spark that ignited the flames.

The Sixth Domicile is book 1 in the Domicile Series, A New Adult dystopian. Fans of Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Ally Condie’s Matched series will love The Sixth Domicile.

On Goodreads     At Amazon


The Vrai Domicile (The Domicile Series Book 2) by Courtney Ruggles

Genre: New Adult Dystopian

vraiQ437B was ready to die for the Second Revolution. Then she entered the Meurtre

Q and B expected death when the Elders ordered their execution. What they discover instead changes everything they thought they knew about their world. Saved by the mercy of the Elders, they awaken in the Vrai Domicile, a mysterious place hidden below the Sixth Domicile housing hundreds of former rebels.

Except these rebels have been brainwashed, conditioned to be blind followers.

Q quickly learns of the Elders’ new plan for her – she is to become their warrior, to reunite the Vrai and Sixth Domiciles with purity, love, and unwavering faith. But to Q, she’ll be undoing everything she and the rebels fought for.

Now Q and B must fight to survive once more, forced to forge new alliances with strangers who promise nothing is as it seems. But surviving comes with a choice – follow the Elders and quash the Revolution, or defy them and free the people, putting B’s and Grandmother’s lives at risk.

In a place where the fire of rebellion is extinguished at every turn, can Q continue to be the spark that fuels the Revolution?

Book 2 in The Sixth Domicile Series by Courtney Ruggles, a 5 star Readers Favorite!

At Amazon


The Sauvage Domicile (book #3) by Courtney Ruggles

Genre: New Adult Dystopian

Sauvage DomicileThe Revolution just entered the wild.

Q’s escape from the Vrai Domicile was supposed to be the final spark to ignite the people. But that spark was doused by a sacrifice that threatens to destroy her.

Now Q must forge a new path. Led deep into the woods to find the elusive Transients, she must not only protect those who escaped the Sixth Domicile with her, but also align with Transients who have their own plans of warfare. And their war calls for more death and destruction than Q ever thought possible.

As Q unites both Transient and Domicilian, she quickly realizes that even in the wilderness, no one is free. They must take the fight back to the Domicile. But this war brings with it more secrets, heartbreaking betrayals, and even worse sacrifices, as Q fights to protect her people from Elders who always seem to be one step ahead.

The face of the Revolution has changed. Q has entered the sauvage – a place she isn’t sure she can survive.

Book 3 in the Readers’ Favorite Domicile Series by Courtney Ruggles.

At Amazon Price: $3.99

teaser3


guestpost

Seven Fun Facts About The Domicile Series

  1. The Sixth Domicile started as a short story in a high school creative writing class. The bones of the story were all in the short, but the gritty issues weren’t there, like the abuse and the detailed oppression wasn’t so apparent. Neither were those steamy sex scenes. I wrote on and off on The Sixth Domicile for nine years before finally finishing it.
  2. I wrote The Sixth Domicile as a stand-alone with an ending left open to interpretation, but could also be transferred into a series if I ever chose to do so. I never intended on writing a series, I simply wanted to finish a novel and publish ( a life long dream of mine). But then my editor and publisher told me the story had to be finished, and The Sixth Domicile turned into The Domicile Series.
  3. K706A is based on my real-life friend. I had a contest and the winner would have a character named after him or her. Well, it was the only contest he’d ever participated in of mine and then was randomly chosen as the winner. At first I thought he was going to play a small role in The Sauvage Domicile, but then as I got to writing it, K706A turned into a much bigger character than I ever imagined. K706A is almost an exact replica of my friend with looks, similar profession, and even mannerisms. I didn’t think he would fun to write (don’t worry, I already told him that 😉 ) but he really was. And he turned into a beloved character.
  4. One night writing The Sauvage Domicile I killed five people while wearing a pink lacy dress. And I laughed maniacally as I did.
  5. It took me nine weeks to write book 2 in the series, The Vrai Domicile after it took me nine years to write The Sixth Domicile.
  6. I love listening to Pandora as I write. In fact, I don’t write without it on. I’ve already picked out songs I want on soundtracks and imagine the scenes as being in movies as I write, with music in the background and everything.
  7. B116A is based on a close friend who passed away ten years ago. B116A’s loyalty, sweetness, determination are all based on my friend, even his looks. I hope he knows he inspired one of my favorite characters, and one of my favorite stories I’ve told yet ;).

 

author

Ccourtneyourtney’s love for writing started pretty much when she learned to read, which her mother would tell you was a feat in itself back when she was in the first grade. Once she aced those flashcards with vocabulary words, Courtney’s writing took off. And her love with it. In school, she was always writing short stories on a word processor (What?? Word processor with floppy disks?). Oh yes, she literally had a card filing case full of floppy disks.

Now getting her Doctorate in social work, she’s used this education to help her write some of the gritty issues entwined in her stories. When Courtney isn’t writing her next book while drinking coffee, you can find her doing homework (drag) with chocolate chip flavored coffee, reading series of books (because school books are only so interesting) while drinking pumpkin flavored coffee, playing with her little boy, or daydreaming of future beach houses while drinking some other scrumptious flavor of coffee.

Media Links

Website: www.courtneyruggles.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorCRuggles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCourtneyRuggles/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Instagram: @courtneyruggles

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s