Guest Post: Top 5 things I’d say to people writing their first novel by Tessa Bailey

FOR_toohardtoforget_blitz

Bailey_TooHardtoForget_MMThe third book in New York Times bestselling author Tessa Bailey’s Romancing the Clarksons series about four siblings on a cross-country road trip, perfect for fans of Gena Showalter and Julie James!

This time, she’s calling the shots.

Peggy Clarkson is returning to her alma mater with one goal in mind: confront Elliott Brooks, the man who ruined her for all others, and remind him of what he’s been missing. Even after three years, seeing him again is like a punch in the gut, but Peggy’s determined to stick to her plan. Maybe then, once she has the upper hand, she’ll finally be able to move on.

In the years since Peggy left Cincinnati, Elliott has kept his focus on football. No distractions and no complications. But when Peggy walks back onto his practice field and into his life, he knows she could unravel everything in his carefully controlled world. Because the girl who was hard to forget is now a woman impossible to resist.

Add to Goodreads

buy

Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Books-A-Million

Google Play     iBooks     Indiebound     Kobo

giveaway

Win one of Ten Copies of Too Hard to Forget

Click Here to Enter ~ Good Luck!

THE ROMANCING THE CLARKSONS SERIES

Romancing the Clarksons Series

TOO HOT TO HANDLE, #1

TOO WILD TO TAME, #2

TOO HARD TO FORGET, #3

TOO BEAUTIFUL TO BREAK, #4

Series Page on Goodreads

guestpost

Top 5 things I’d say to people writing their first novel.

My advice isn’t going to be right for everyone, but here’s what I wish someone had told me when I knew absolutely nothing about writing and/or the industry!

  1. Take risks. Write what speaks to you and have confidence in it. Don’t write like your mother is reading over your shoulder. It took me a while to learn that lesson and it paid off!
  2. Know where your book fits in the market. What genre is it? What word length is best for that genre? What makes it different and which editors/agents might it appeal to? It’s good to pay attention to editors/agents on social media because they’re often very vocal about what they want submission-wise. It might be exactly what you’re writing and you don’t want to miss that shot.
  3. If there’s a scene or a line of dialogue bothering you? Delete it. Don’t leave it there. Just get rid of it and that annoying splinter under your skin will go away. Don’t sacrifice quality for word count.
  4. Try and learn/decide as much about your characters as possible before you start writing. Every inner thought or interaction depends on their past, so know their insecurities well and use them. Make sure their struggle is right there on the page.
  5. Be disciplined. Writers write. If you want to write a book, you might need designated writing times you can realistically stick to. Don’t accept your own excuses. Writing can be a lonely job and you don’t get a pat on the back for reaching your word count every day. That reward has to come from you, so if incentivizing yourself works, do that, too. Whatever gets those words on the page

 

author

highres-MJB_5140.jpgTessa Bailey is originally from Carlsbad, California. The day after high school graduation, she packed her yearbook, ripped jeans, and laptop, and drove cross-country to New York City in under four days. Her most valuable life experiences were learned thereafter while waitressing at K-Dees, a Manhattan pub owned by her uncle. Inside those four walls, she met her husband, best friend, and discovered the magic of classic rock, managing to put herself through Kingsborough Community College and the English program at Pace University at the same time. Several stunted attempts to enter the work force as a journalist followed, but romance writing continued to demand her attention.

She now lives in Long Island, New York with her husband and daughter. Although she is severely sleep-deprived, she is incredibly happy to be living her dream of writing about people falling in love.

Website    Facebook     Twitter

Instagram     Goodreads

 

FOLLOW FOREVER ONLINE

Website     Facebook     Twitter

Instagram     Pinterest

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s